One-page profiles in pregnancy

An example of how this woman used a one-page profile in pregnancy to help her communicate well and direct her own support. This is the story of the one-page profile Rowan created two years ago whilst pregnant with her first daughter

Written by Rowan Hall

Rowan's one-page profile

Rowan’s one-page profile

Today, Helen and I wrote my one-page profile, something Helen will use to understand me in our person-centred journey and importantly, a way of really getting me to think  about who I am, what is important to me and  what I need in terms of support. This might sound like a bit of an odd thing to do, especially if you are someone who is fairly confident that they understand themselves (as I was) but it wasn’t until I really started hammering down on some of the points, that I realised that actually the things that are important to me sometimes conflict with my self-image. For example; I’d like to think I am independent and self-reliant and yet when I started writing down how I spend my time, what makes me happy and who is in my circle of support, it would appear that I require babysitting by friends 95% of the time!

Ok, maybe babysitting is a little harsh but I pretty much seem to need to talk to my friends non stop either by email, phone or in person throughout the day. I do of course break to work, cycle, sleep and spend some time with Jon but other than that, I can keep my conversations going through meals, shopping expeditions – even in the bath. This might not seem like an  important revelation in the great scheme of things but in noting it, I have realised that it is something that is very likely to change once our baby is born. I need to think about how I can continue to feel the support that I get from these relationships with my close friends when I will undoubtedly have less time to dedicate to them.

Something else I became aware off when working through the one-page profile  was  that delivering our baby at home (being one of the two options currently available to me , the other being in hospital), might not be the best choice. It is possibly too early to come to this conclusion and I am sure there is much more to explore with Helen before we complete my person-centred birthing plan but I am conscious that some of the things that I have listed as important to me involve my home and are not necessarily conducive with a relaxed birthing environment. For example, I currently have a noisy neighbour who insists on playing rave music into the early hours. Imagine labour but instead of a chill out mix tape (complete with the essential Massive Attack’s Teardrop track) playing soothingly in the background, you are confronted with  repetitive base beats vibrating through the floor boards. On the flip side, the idea of a home birth appeals because I think it would be more of a shared experience with my partner (again something that I have noted as important to me) – who won’t be sent home to sleep once the baby is born or have to leave us to get changed or eat as he would if I was in hospital. Lots to think about.

My one-page profile set’s out what is important to me now and how best to support me. I will use it in pregnancy and plan to create another to use in birth.

You can read more about one-page profiles in pregnancy and other person-centred thinking tools from the Pregnancy Parenting and Personalisation website.

