The cornerstone of being a person-centred organisation

An example of how one-page profiles have improved communication, daily interactions and strengthened relationships in this working environment. Tony Pearson describes one-page profiles as the cornerstone of being a person-centred organisation.

TonyWritten by Tony Pearson

Following a 20 year career in the public sector, in which I was a manager in both the NHS and in Local Government, I joined Real Life Options in November 2009. I am a member of the Institute of Healthcare Management (IHM) and of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD).

As the Director of Human Resources and acting Director of Operations, making sure that colleagues feel valued and part of the wider organisation is an area of upmost importance. Recognising people as individuals, acknowledging their skills and strengths and supporting any areas for development are key to an engaged workforce. If our staff are happy, they will provide support to the best of their abilities. One-page profiles are a really good way to demonstrate person-centred values.

I gave my one-page profile a great deal of consideration before getting anything down on paper. At first it can feel slightly alien to be considering your strengths and the best ways in which others can support you. As a Director it has been a great opportunity to let others in on details that might seem insignificant but are actually quite important, for example my preference for face to face contact over emails or telephone conversations, and that it’s ok and actually appreciated when people remind me of deadlines. The section that addresses what people like and admire about me was gathered during an exercise in a Head Office meeting where we all worked together to develop our first one-page profiles.

My profile is displayed on the wall at all the regional offices, so that colleagues from all parts of the organisation can familiarise themselves with what I am about. I use mine to send out to people prior to a meeting, this is especially useful in situations where we may be meeting for the first time – It always gets a positive response.

Having a one-page profile has made a substantial difference in my every day interactions. It stands to reason that if you communicate what is important to you, who you are and what support you need that interaction becomes easier, and relationships are improved and strengthened. It is also good to have an opportunity to let people in to a little about your personal life. I mention my family on my one-page profile as they are very important to me.

On an organisation-wide scale as well as personally, one-page profiles have influenced the way in which people interact and communicate with each other.  It’s the cornerstone of being a person-centred organisation as you need to know these kind of details about others from the outset in order to be able to be supportive and treat people as individuals, respecting their needs and viewpoint.

