Not just someone lying in bed 2B

An inspirational example of how one-page profiles can help people in hospital connect with others during confusing and difficult times. Kris had no idea of the impact her mum’s one-page profile would have, not just for them, but for the medical staff, other patients and their loved ones.

A photo of Laurine's one-page profile on the wall in  the hospital

A photo of Laurine’s one-page profile on the wall in the hospital

Written by Kris, a person-centred thinking trainer

Meet my mother, Laurine Kaiser. She has been married to my father for soon to be 63 years. They have three children, myself (Kris) being the middle child in addition to my older brother Stephen and my younger sister Kimberly. Mom was born in 1927 and will be celebrating her 86th birthday in November this year. She has always enjoyed an active life as a Mom, wife, travel companion, pharmacist, bridge player, friend and sister to a younger sister and brother who live in Kitchener.

My Mom and Dad moved in to my home in 2010 shortly after my husband passed away. We spent a few months together before my Mom fell ill for the first time in her life. She ended up at St. Joseph’s hospital in Hamilton where she remained a patient for five months. The doctors had quite a challenge for some time trying to figure out exactly what was wrong with her. She eventually ended up in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and spent almost two weeks there before she graduated to the Progressive Care Unit.

At that time my Mom was not able to use words and was extremely tired from the long journey she’d been on in the ICU. On several occasions nurses, doctors, therapists etc. would enter the room and ask me questions about my Mom…did she ever work, what line of work, is she married, how many grandchildren etc. That was when I decided to create a one-page profile for my Mom. Looking at this frail yet dignified and elegant woman lying there so peacefully yet so helpless I knew that I needed to do something so that people could connect with my Mom by looking and reading her profile. It was a way to humanize my Mom and value her as a person with a story to tell and not just someone lying in bed 2B.

I was excited to complete this one-page profile for her, knowing that this would make a positive difference in her life. I created the profile in one night with a dollar store bristle board, a black magic marker and a few photos of her along with the joys in her life.

When I returned to the hospital the next day I couldn’t wait to put it up! My Mom was thrilled with it and stared at it for hours. She would smile and point to people making kind gestures. The nurse came in the room that afternoon and read the board and quickly pointed out that my Mom’s favourite TV show was Big Bang Theory which was also hers. She remarked, “I’ll put it on the TV for her tonight at 7:30. Mom gave her the biggest smile.

Word seemed to get around the floor and the hospital about my Mom’s one-page profile and soon other patients’ families and friends on the floor were asking to see it, vowing to create one for their loved one. It just seemed to snowball with positive remarks from all. Close to the end of my Mom’s extended stay at St. Joseph’s the administration team came to have a look at the profile and said that they should introduce this in their hospital. That was a great day!!

Doing the one-page profile for my Mom made such a difference in her mental and physical recovery. Having this tool created a way for others to have a conversation with Mom and it also provided information about her interests and hobbies which often was a source of some great chats with people she met at St. Joe’s.

I’ve always known that the one-page profile works however I didn’t know the impact it would have on so many people and their loved ones.

 

